UNSECURED PROPERTY TAXES
WHAT ARE UNSECURED (PERSONAL) PROPERTY TAXES?
Unsecured (Personal) Property Taxes are ad-valorem (value based) property taxes that are billed to the owner of record as of January 1 of each year. Because the taxes are not secured by real property such as land, these taxes are called “Unsecured.”
Unsecured (Personal) Property Taxes are taxes on boats, Jet Skis, aircrafts, business fixtures, business furniture, and business machinery.
There are also other types of Unsecured Property Tax Bills:
An “Escape” Assessment is a correction to a personal property’s assessed value that the Office of the Los Angeles County Assessor did not add to any prior year’s Annual Unsecured Property Tax Bill. These “Escape” bills are usually the result of a taxable event that “escaped” the Office of the Los Angeles County Assessor.
A Supplemental Assessment is a reappraisal of real property due to a change in ownership or new construction. An Unsecured Supplemental Property Tax Bill is created when this reappraisal occurs after a subsequent change in ownership. The Supplemental Property Tax Bill is billed on the Unsecured Tax Roll because the owner responsible for the property taxes either no longer owns the property or no longer has control of the property.
These are assessments that are, by law, collected as Secured (Real) Property Taxes, but when defaulted are collected as Unsecured (Personal) Property Taxes (e.g., mobile homes and structural improvements on leased land).
The Treasurer and Tax Collector mails the Annual Unsecured Property Tax Bills between March 1 and June 30 of each year. If you do not receive your Unsecured Property Tax Bill by July 15, you may email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Be sure to list your Roll Year and Bill Number and use the phrase “Copy of Original Unsecured Bill” in the subject line of the email. You may also call us at 1(213) 893-7935, press 1, 2, and then press 9 to reach an agent, Monday through Friday, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time, excluding Los Angeles County holidays.
Pursuant to California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2922, Unsecured (Personal) Property Taxes are due upon receipt of the Unsecured Property Tax Bill and become delinquent after 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time on August 31. If the delinquency date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a Los Angeles County holiday, by law, the Treasurer and Tax Collector extends the delinquency date to the close of business on the next business day.
Also, pursuant to California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2922, we will impose a 10 percent penalty plus a $20 Notice of Enforcement cost. If we receive your payment after 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time on August 31, or your payment is United States Postal Service postmarked after August 31. You can make online payments 24 hours a day, 7 days a week until 11:59 p.m. Pacific Time on the delinquency date.
Starting the first day of the third month after the delinquency date, we will also impose an additional $29 Notice of Lien collection cost and additional penalties of 1.5 percent per month until the taxes are paid in full.
Furthermore, we may use the following collection methods:
- Summary Judgments
- Legal Actions
- Seizure and Sale of Personal Property
- Intercept Franchise Tax Board Tax Refunds
- Place a hold on Department of Motor Vehicles Registration for Boats and Jet Skis