
Mobile Home (aka Manufactured Home) Property Taxes 

Frequently Asked Questions   

1. What is a mobile home?

A mobile home is a transportable housing structure that may contain more than one 

dwelling unit.   

2. What is the difference between a mobile home and a modular home, and how

are the property taxes billed?

A mobile home is a housing structure not attached to a foundation.  Property taxes for 

mobile homes are billed separately from the parcel where the mobile home is located. 

A mobile home attached to a foundation, is considered a modular home.  A modular 

home is listed as an improvement on the yearly property tax bill.  Modular home 

property taxes and parcel taxes are billed together on the same bill.  

3. When are Annual Property Tax bills for mobile homes mailed?

Each year in October, the Treasurer and Tax Collector mails the Annual Secured 

Property Tax Bills. 

4. When are property taxes due for my mobile home?

Your tax bill has two payment stubs.  You may pay each installment individually or both 

installments simultaneously.  The 1st installment is due on November 1 and becomes 

delinquent by the close of business on December 10.  The 2nd installment is due on 

February 1 and becomes delinquent by the close of business on April 10.  If the 

delinquency date falls on a Saturday or Sunday, by law, the Treasurer and Tax 

Collector extends the delinquency date to the close of business on the next business 

day.   

5. What happens if I do not pay my mobile home property taxes on time?

If the Treasurer and Tax Collector does not receive your payment by the delinquency 

date, or if the United States Postal Service (USPS) does not postmark your payment on 

or before the delinquency date, the Treasurer and Tax Collector will impose a  

10 percent penalty fee on each installment and a $10 cost on the 2nd installment.  If you 

do not pay an installment by June 30, the Treasurer and Tax Collector transfers the 

delinquent mobile home property tax to the Unsecured Property Tax Roll.  Once 

transferred, the delinquent property taxes are subject to a 1.5 percent penalty beginning 

on July 1 and the penalty accrues on the first day of each month until the taxes are paid 

in full.  The property taxes, including penalties and costs, are subject to the enforcement 

of collection.  Additional fees may be assessed as may the recording of a Certificate of 

Tax Lien with the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk. 



6. I pay property taxes to the Treasurer and Tax Collector.  Why do some mobile

home owners pay In-Lieu Taxes to the California Department of Housing and

Community Development?

Mobile homes that were sold as new prior to July 1, 1980, are subject to In-Lieu Taxes 

(ILT), a fee paid to the California Department of Housing and Community Development. 

A mobile home property owner charged an ILT may request to transfer the tax billing 

to the property tax roll at any time.  However, a property owner may not request to 

revert a mobile home on the property tax roll back to ILT status.  

7. Under what circumstances might my mobile home automatically become

subject to the local property taxes?

New mobile homes sold on or after July 1, 1980, are subject to local property taxes paid 
to the Treasurer and Tax Collector in the county where the mobile home is located. 

Other reasons for subjecting a mobile home to the local property tax include the 

following: 

a. In-Lieu Taxes are delinquent for 120 or more days and the mobile home was

included in the California Department of Housing and Community Development

delinquency list issued prior to October 1, 1984.

b. The home is attached to the foundation and is considered a modular home.

8. What is a Tax Clearance Certificate?

A Tax Clearance Certificate identifies the amount of tax liability that exists on a specific 

mobile home.  Additionally, a Tax Clearance Certificate verifies with the California 

Department of Housing and Community Development that, at the date of issuance, all 

property taxes are paid prior to transferring ownership of a mobile home. 

9. What is a Conditional Tax Clearance Certificate?

A Conditional Tax Clearance Certificate is issued when the Treasurer and Tax Collector 

has determined that a tax liability exists, there is an amount due, and provides the final 

date that the amount must be paid by before further tax liability is incurred.  The 

Conditional Tax Clearance Certificate permits the processing of the title transfer, 

because the Treasurer and Tax Collector received a specific payment when escrow 

closed. 

10. Why do I need to request a Tax Clearance Certificate?

The California Department of Housing and Community Development requires a Tax 

Clearance Certificate to change ownership of a mobile home for the following: 

a. Purchasing or selling a mobile home.

b. Transferring a mobile home to a family member(s) (i.e., add or remove an

owner(s) from the title).
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c. Transferring a mobile home into a trust.

d. Removing a deceased co-owner from title.

11. My current property taxes are paid.  Why do I have to pay more taxes to get a

Tax Clearance Certificate?

Pursuant to California Revenue and Taxation Code 5832 (a)(2), if a Tax Clearance 

Certificate is issued, this means that no local property taxes are due or are likely to 

become due.  If the Tax Clearance Certificate is issued on or after January 1, the 

Treasurer and Tax Collector is required to estimate the taxes for the upcoming fiscal 

year, (July 1 through June 30).  The Treasurer and Tax Collector requires payment of 

the estimated taxes to issue the Tax Clearance Certificate.   

12. Why did I receive a supplemental property tax bill after I was issued a Tax

Clearance Certificate?

Mobile homes that are subject to local property tax are also subject to supplemental 

assessments.  There may be a supplemental assessment for property taxes not 

covered by the Tax Clearance Certificate.  The Office of the Assessor most likely 

reappraised your mobile home due to the change in ownership after the issuance of the 

Tax Clearance Certificate.  The supplemental property tax bill is created when this 

reappraisal occurs and it applies to a specific fiscal tax year(s). 

13. If I purchase a mobile home subject to local property taxes, how do I get the

title transferred to my name?

You must present the California Department of Housing and Community Development 

(HCD) with a Tax Clearance Certificate from the Treasurer and Tax Collector of the 

county where the mobile home is located.  The HCD administers mobile home title 

issuance and cannot transfer the title of a resold mobile home subject to local property 

taxes without the Tax Clearance Certificate.   

You must pay any outstanding property taxes before the Treasurer and Tax Collector 
issues a Tax Clearance Certificate. 

14. What happens if I purchase a mobile home sold prior to July 1, 1980, and it is

subject to pay In-Lieu Taxes?

Unless you request a transfer to pay local property taxes, you will be able to continue 

paying the In-Lieu Taxes (ILT).  If you sell your mobile home, the new owner likewise 

will pay the ILT, unless they request a transfer to pay local property taxes. 

15. What information do I need to request a Tax Clearance Certificate/Conditional

Certificate?

You will need the following information: Decal Number, Serial Number, name and 

address of the buyer(s), the return address for the certificate, and the Assessor’s 

Identification Number.  This information may be found on the Certificate of Title or title 
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search from the California Department of Housing and Community Development.  You 

must pay all property taxes before the Treasurer and Tax Collector will issue a Tax 

Clearance Certificate.   

16. How do I request a Tax Clearance Certificate/Conditional Certificate?

To request a Tax Clearance-Certificate or a Conditional Tax Clearance Certificate, 

complete the Request for Tax Clearance/Conditional Certificate and submit by any of 

the following: 

Email: mobilehome@ttc.lacounty.gov 

Fax: 

Mail: 

(213) 633-5004

County of Los Angeles Treasurer and Tax Collector 
Public Service Division Mobile Home Unit  
225 North Hill Street, Room 109
Los Angeles, California 90012 

Please visit Mobile Home (aka Manufactured Home) Tax Clearance Certificates for 
more information. 

17. How long does it take to receive the Tax Clearance/Conditional Certificate?

It takes approximately 15 business days to process the Tax Clearance/Conditional 

Certificate.  Upon completion of this process, the Treasurer and Tax Collector will mail 

you a notice of the property tax amount due.  After receiving payment, the Treasurer 

and Tax Collector will issue and mail the Tax Clearance Certificate to the address listed 

on the request.  Please wait 15 business days before contacting our office if you have 

not received a response.   

18. After obtaining a Tax Clearance Certificate, how do I register the mobile home

in my name?

To register the mobile home in the new owner(s) name, the Tax Clearance Certificate 

and required paperwork should be submitted to the California Department of Housing 

and Community Development (HCD).  For additional information visit the HCD website 

or call (800) 952-8356.  

19. Do Tax Clearance Certificates expire?

Yes.  Tax Clearance Certificates expire 60 calendar days after the issued date.  If the 

Tax Clearance Certificate expires, you are required to resubmit a new Request for Tax 

Clearance/Conditional Certificate. 

For more information on mobile home Tax Clearance Certificates, please visit Mobile 
Home (aka Manufactured Home) Tax Clearance Certificates. 
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20. Are property tax exemptions and assistance programs available to mobile 

homeowners? 

You may obtain information on exemptions and assistance programs for homeowners, 

veterans, and churches, among others, by visiting the Office of the Assessor's website 

or calling (213) 974-3211.  

https://assessor.lacounty.gov/exclusions-tax-relief/

